Afrojack – Forget The World (Deluxe Edition)

May 21, 2014


With so many artists today choosing to release individual singles rather than artist albums, Dutch house star Afrojack has decided it was to run in the opposite direction and release his debut full length Forget The World. To be honest, he doesn’t exactly need to release an album as he’s already a chart-topping producer and one of the world’s 10 highest-paid DJs; but as he has quoted in the past ‘this release is for the fans’.

Looking at the album as a whole, it is evident from the start that this release is truly a dedication and thank you to his fans for the years of support. The Dutchman has enlisted a huge roster of heavyweights to feature on Forget The World, which all bring something unique to each track.

Snoop Dogg, Neon Trees’ Tyler Glenn, Sting, Mathew Koma, Wiz Khalifa, Chris Brown and Jared Leto are a few of the names that feature throughout the full length

Afrojack has really included a variety of different elements into each track whilst still maintaining that commercial EDM sound he is most known for. Ten Feet Tall is one of the bigger songs on the album with a catchy hook, big drops and excellent vocals from Wrabel. ‘Illuminate’ and ‘Keep Our Love Alive’ which feature vocalist Mathew Koma, are straight up commercially successful tracks with their explosive big room sound and unbelievably catchy melodies.

Arguably the best track on the album, ‘Catch Tomorrow’ see’s the iconic voice of Sting lend emotion, power and edge to the track.

‘Too Wild’ features Wiz Khalifa & Devin Cruise and to be honest, when one sees a track with Wiz Khalifa’s name attached, this is not the expected sound as Afrojack transports you to a chill party of groove and pure melody.

The deluxe edition of Forget The World also includes the famous ‘As Your Friend’ featuring Chris Brown, Sovereign Light Café remix and Afrojack’s remix of Do or Die by Thirty Seconds to Mars.

Overall, Forget The World is a typical Afrojack release. There is no doubt people who stray away from commerical EDM will dislike this but if you fancy a fun and uplifting sound then you will thoroughly enjoy this album.

Forget The World Tracklist

  1. Ten Feet Tall (feat. Wrabel)
  2. Illuminate (feat. Matthew Koma)
  3. Born To Run (feat. Tyler Glenn)
  4. Freedom (feat. Jack McManus)
  5. The Spark (feat. Spree Wilson)
  6. Dynamite (feat. Snoop Dogg)
  7. Too Wild (feat. Wiz Khalifa & Devin Cruise)
  8. Three Strikes (feat. Jack McManus)
  9. Catch Tomorrow (feat. Sting)
  10. We’ll Be Ok (feat. Wrabel)
  11. Mexico (feat. Shirazi)
  12. Keep Our Love Alive (feat. Matthew Koma)
  13. Faded
  14. As Your Friend (feat. Chris Brown)
  15. Do Or Die (Afrojack vs Thirty Seconds To Mars Remix)
  16. Sovereign Light Café (Afrojack Remix)

© 2017 OZ EDM